The Power Of Prayer 


I have been known to joke that sometimes the only exercise I get is pushing my luck, and carrying too much weight on my shoulders. But, sometimes, the burden can be too great to carry.

Earlier this week, I had a mini-meltdown. I felt I was shouldering too much responsibility for managing the household and caring for the girls. I had very firm words with my husband and Raizel.

The resolution was that Raizel would start to take responsibility for washing the dishes and emptying out the dishwasher.

In the meantime, I wrote up a schedule for myself and shuttered as to how I could possibly do it all. Clearly, I needed help.

So, yesterday, on my way to work, I found myself driving behind a car with a vanity plate which said, “GODFIRST.” I was so struck by the message that I took a picture of it:


The whole day, I kept thinking about “GODFIRST.” What did it mean? How could I put God first?

And so, I began to have a conversation with God. Out loud, I spoke to God, and I asked him to help me. I told Him how everything was too much for me. I needed Him to carry me and find the solution for my difficulties.


Well, this is what I came home to:


A beautiful, clean kitchen!

When I came home, I texted Jay,

Did you clean up??? Wow! Thank you! That was true love.

Raizel and Jay together cleaned up the kitchen for me. I felt that was one of the most beautiful and loving things that my husband could have ever done.

I feel so grateful to Hashem (God). He took care of me. It brought tears to my eyes.


When we put God first, and really talk to Him, God listens. And, we never know what the solution will be. We have to place God before us always.

10 thoughts on “The Power Of Prayer 

  1. Absolutely true! I like the quote about the purpose of trouble to get us back into prayer… How often it’s the case that we neglect prayer when not in trouble. Glad your day turned out so well. The Lord does work in mysterious ways. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I believe with no doubt, God gave you a gentle reminder because (shamefully) I need reminded alot, and He never fails to give me a msg, even billboards have read the oddest things that wouldn’t make sense as is or be happy welcoming signs .. but in my passing of it, makes perfect sense in what I need to know or be reminded of.. Case in point, I was struggling with giving false praise to a friend to encourage her good points to not turn from God in what she was planning to go thru with.. just as I was thinking, we’ll, a little white lie wouldn’t hurt since it was to encourage in the right direction, right ? (asking God even though I felt the pinch that it’s still wrong)… But in that exact moment at 50 MPH on a deserted 30 mile stretch of 2 lane highway between small towns, a small white lighted sign hits my eyes like a beacon.. on it the big black letters boldly printed,

    God Wants Truth in Your Heart..

    I just about drove off in the ditch when I read that..

    And I didn’t pursue that course of action..

    Sitting back aways from the sign, I could make out a small church with dimly lit with night lights…
    I’m glad your reminder was gentle and warming and that you relived it all over again when you saw the kitchen 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy that I am not the only person that happens to. I feel that in those moments when I feel helpless and hopeless, God, in His mercy and ultimate kindness, lets me know that He will carry me and I am not alone. I believe that God wants to have a relationship with us, and arranges seemingly random events to remind us that He is still there. Then, I am not alone, and there is hope.🌈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

