Peace Of Mind

 
As someone who works in mental health, the nature of giving, receiving and feeling loved comes up regularly.

Very often, patients report feeling angry, dissatisfied, and hopeless.

When we discuss these issues further, patients come to realize that true joy comes from giving to others, without expectations of receiving in return.

When we give to give, we feel love for others and loved by others. 

When we give to get, it is a recipe for resentment and disappointment.

A meaningful life filled with purpose and service is the secret to serenity, peace of mind and true lasting happiness.

Ultimately, happiness is a choice.  It is a daily disciple to focus giving and sharing rather than taking or getting.

Daily writing exercise:

  

What did I do for others today?

Was I willing to inconvenience myself to help another person today?

Was I willing to let others’ needs be satisfied before my wants?

Did I help another person without waiting to be asked?

Did I do something nice for someone I dislike? 

Did I do something nice for someone anonymously? 
  
   

Leave a Reply

